The first AGM, held on 13 May 1998, was an informal affair at which members expressed their support for the new society.  Officers were elected, unopposed, as follows: Bob Horne (chairman), John Brooke (secretary), John Millington (treasurer), to be assisted by a committee of Pauline Barritt, Christine Booth, Valerie Deadman, Dennis Kirby, Raymond Smith, Jean Timmons and June Wolfe.

It might be of interest to be reminded of the original membership. Below are the names of the 45 people who attended the first meeting, listed in the order in which they signed the register.


Mr and Mrs E Wood, Windsor Walk;  Mr and Mrs David Clough, Lower Crow Nest Drive;  Mrs Joyce Clarke, Bramley Lane;  Mrs Eve Turner, Leyburn Avenue;  Mrs Christine Booth, The Ings;  Alan Sutcliffe and Mrs Jean Sutcliffe, East View;  Miss Caroline Pell and Mrs Jennifer Pell, The Avenue;  Dorice Haughey, St Giles Close;  Miss Peggy Woodward, Brookelands;  John and Mrs Pauline Barritt, Wakefield Road;  Geoffrey Crook, Watkinson Bungalows;  Mrs Betty Tuck, West Avenue;  Bob and Mrs Claire Horne, Bramley View;  E. Brookes, Westfield Drive;  Barry Roper, Leyburn Avenue;  John Illingworth, Cecil Avenue;  Mrs Sheila Mitchell, Ellis Court, Norwood Green;  Mrs Janet Thomas, Highfield, Bramley Lane;  Mrs Kathleen Briggs, Knowle Top Drive;  Raymond and Mrs Irene Smith, Wakefield Road;  Guy and Mrs Dorothy Horne, Knowle Top Drive;  Bill Redmayne, Warren Park;    Mr and Mrs C. Tunnicliffe, Whitehall Villas;  Frank Manchester, Wakefield Road;  Mrs Susan Roberts, Lydgate Park;  Mrs Ann Ablett, Lydgate Park;  P.W. and Mrs Susan Walker, Leeds Road;  Norman and Mrs Molly Lister, The Grove;  John and Mrs Kath Millington, Leyburn Avenue;  Mrs Jean Habergham, Bramley View;  Alec Priestley, Bramley View;  John and Mrs Jenny Brooke, Leyburn Avenue;   Chris Helme, Holme House, Wakefield Road.

Add comment